Date of Event : Wed Mar 13, 2019 11:03AM

Wowwee! What a week for our women’s cricketers, winning the club’s inaugural 1st XI premiership – one-day or T20 – on Sunday, overcoming Prahran in a tense, and intense, grand final.


This success had seemed a long time coming to those that have been closely involved with the team, whether they be players, coaches or administrators, who have put in an enormous amount of time and energy. However it is just our seventh season since our entry into Premier Cricket – the first time the club has fielded female teams at any level. Their success capped off an outstanding season for our women’s program, adding to the flag success of the Seconds just a week ago.


To the match itself, captain Teagan Parker (finally) won a toss and was encouraged enough by conditions to send Prahran in. Tegan Orwin (2/28) struck early however a threatening 45-run partnership developed before the club’s inaugural skipper, Anna O’Donnell (2/27), landed a vital double breakthrough. Elly Donald chimed in and Prahran slipped to 3 for 51 before they took the score to 105 without further loss. Stephanie Townsend (3/16) then stepped in to wrest the ascendancy and, after Orwin claimed her second, Hayleigh Brennan (2/14) joined the wicket takers and Prahran was bowled out for 159 in the 48th over.


The Demons could hardly have asked for a better start, with Amy Vine (28) figuring in an opening partnership of 79 with Amy Yates (58). However things grew significantly tenser after Vine’s departure when six wickets fell in the next 32 runs, including that of top scorer Yates, to have the scoreboard reading 6 for 132. With plenty of overs in hand, Ella Hayward (18) steadied and, with Brea Sutton, took the score to within nine of victory before Hayward’s dismissal. Sutton then combined with Hayleigh Brennan to see the Demons over the line with 16 balls and three wickets to spare.


Amy Yates (58 off 95 balls, nine 4s) capped off her outstanding season by receiving the ‘Player of the Final’ award.


On behalf of the MCC Cricket family, congratulations to head coach Graeme Lay, assistant coach and often ‘match day’ coach, Karen Rolton, our women’s co-ordinator, Marcella Torre, who plays many important roles, scorer and committee member, Wendy Moore, plus, of course, skipper Teagan Parker and her superb team on your most deserved success.


Women’s Premier Firsts (Grand Final) – Prahran 159 (H Brennan 2/14, T Orwin 2/28, A O’Donnell 2/27, S Townsend 3/16) defeated by Melbourne 7/161 (A Yates 58, A Vine 28) at Junction Oval

Last updated: Wednesday March 13, 2019 11:16AM
Author: Steven McCooke